A lot of the people I talk to about fitness have a lot of
major misconceptions about fitness: Biceps curls should be done in the squat
rack, squats are bad for your knees, the more instability you introduce the
better, and my personal favorite --->
there are workouts for men and workouts for women. It blows my mind that
there is a huge majority of women who think that they need to do 1000 reps at 2
pounds and it will make them sexy. For guys, well that's another story for a
different post, but mostly it involves a disbelief in stretching, core work,
and cardio.
I listen to a lot of fitness professionals radio programs
and podcasts, and the range of advice ranges from excellent, to terrible, to
dangerous, to just plain silly. A common theme in the questions that are asked
by women is about how to lose weight without bulking up. I want to address some
of the concerns and objections women typically have with weight training.
Objection: I know my body; as soon as I start lifting
weights, I get really big really fast.
My Answer: If it's within the first 3 months that you're
"bulking up" than don't worry about it. Seriously. What's going on is
that your muscles are being torn by weight training and your body, with the
intent of repairing your muscles, sends more blood to the area to fix it and
get more nutrients to the muscle. Think about sports injuries, when you twist
your ankle it swells up, right? Same crap. Your body is adapting to a new
input. Stick with your weight program for a minimum of three months.
If you've been working out for a while and are still afraid
of increasing the weight that you're lifting I'm going to share a BIG secret
with you


No comments:
Post a Comment